GLCC logoSimultaneous display
 
Home London League London Public Service League Club Competitions Calendar
 
 
 

Calendar 2016-17

Events in the GLCC chess-playing year. Home matches and other events at the clubroom are shown in red. Away events are in blue. All home matches start at 6.30pm.

Tuesday 6 September

First club night of the season; Special General Meeting, 6.45pm followed by the Shapson Trophy Lightning Tournament (10 seconds per move), single section all-play-all or Swiss, depending on entries, start as soon as Special General Meeting concluded, expected 7.15-7.30pm.

Tuesday 13 September

FIDE Rated Open Blitz Tournament incorporating the Public Service League Individual Blitz Championships, start 6.45pm, 3 minutes + 2 second increment per player per game. Open and U-150 (U-1825 FIDE) sections all-play-all or Swiss system, depending on entries. Ten rounds, finishing by 9.30-10pm.

Wednesday 14 September

PS 3rd team away to Treasury 3

Tuesday 20 September

Autumn General Meeting, Prizegiving and Club Champion's Simultaneous Display, start 6.30pm.

Wednesday 21 September

PS 2nd team away to DHSS 2

Tuesday 27 September

Club night; LL 1st team home to Metropolitan 2; LL Major team home to West London 1

Thursday 29 September

PS 3rd team away to Pimlico 4

Tuesday 4 October

Club night; PS 2nd team home to Treasury 1; LL Minor team home to Battersea MI

Tuesday 11 October

Club night; PS 3rd team home to UNATS 2; LL 1st team home to Hammersmith 1; LL Major team home to Hammersmith MA

Wednesday 12 October

PS 1st team away to DHSS 1

Tuesday 18 October

Club night; PS 2nd team home to Business & Innovation;

Tuesday 25 October

Club night; PS 1st team home to Pimlico Home; LL 2nd team home to Battersea 3; LL Minor team home to Hammersmith HEDGER

Thursday 27 October

PS 3rd team away to Revenue & Customs 3

Tuesday 1 November

Club night; PS 2nd team home to Pimlico 3; LL 1st team home to Albany 1; LL Major team home to Hackney MA

Tuesday 8 November

Club night; PS 1st team home to Pimlico Justice; PS 3rd team home to Treasury 2; LL 2nd team home to Wanstead & Woodford 3; LL Minor team home to Hackney MI

Tuesday 15 November

Club night; LL 1st team home to Hackney 3; LL Major team home to Kings Head MA

Thursday 17 November

PS 2nd team away to Revenue & Customs 2

Tuesday 22 November

Club night; PS 3rd team home to DHSS 3; LL 2nd team home to Metropolitan 4; LL Minor team home to Metropolitan 4

Thursday 24 November

PS 1st team away to Revenue & Customs 1

Tuesday 29 November

Club night; LL 1st team home to Mushrooms 2; LL Major team home to Pimlico MA

Wednesday 30 November

PS 2nd team away to Treasury 1

Tuesday 6 December

Club night; PS 1st team home to UNATS 1; LL 2nd team home to Streatham & Brixton 3; LL Minor team away to DHSS MI

Tuesday 13 December

Club night; Christmas Tournament at odds for the Phil Jeffries Trophy. Our annual Christmas event played at 19th century style odds, depending on grade handicap. Five round Swiss tournament (15 minutes per player per game), entry fee for members 8, non-members 12, Christmas drinks and buffet; Opening up: Nigel. Start 6.45pm.

Tuesday 20 December

Club night; Opening up: Nigel

Tuesday 27 December

Closed;

Tuesday 3 January

Club night; Opening up: Ken

Thursday 5 January

PS 1st team away to UNATS 1; PS 3rd team away to SPARTA

Tuesday 10 January

Club night; FIDE Rated Open Blitz Tournament; start 6.45pm, 10-round single section Swiss. Rate of play: 3 minutes + 2 second increments. Club members £4, non-members £8 in advance or £12 on the day. Opening up: Nigel

Thursday 12 January

PS 2nd team away to Pimlico 4; LL 2nd team home away to Alfil 1; PS 3rd team away to Pimlico 3

Tuesday 17 January

Club night; LL 1st team home to East Ham 1; LL Major team home to Streatham & Brixton MA

Tuesday 24 January

Club night; LL 2nd team home to Hammersmith 2; LL Minor team home to Hammersmith MI

Tuesday 31 January

Club night; PS 1st team home to Revenue & Customs 1

Tuesday 7 February

Club night; Chess coaching evening with Roman Ismailov

Thursday 9 February

PS 2nd team away to Pimlico 3; LL Major team away to Pimlico MA

Tuesday 14 February

Club night; PS 3rd team home to SPARTA

Thursday 16 February

PS 1st team away to Pimlico Home (Bonar Law Cup)

Tuesday 21 February

Club night; LL 2nd team home to Lewisham 2; LL Minor team home to Hackney MI

Tuesday 28 February

Club night; LL 1st team home to Kings Head 2; LL 2nd team home to Athenaeum 3; LL Major team home to Streatham & Brixton MA

Tuesday 7 March

Club night; PS 2nd team away to Business & Innovation; LL 1st team home to Cavendish 3; LL Major team home to Hackney MA

Tuesday 14 March

Club night; LL 2nd team home to Metropolitan 3; LL Minor team home to Metropolitan MI

Wednesday 15 March

PS 3rd team away to Treasury 2

Thursday 16 March

PS 1st team away to Pimlico Justice

Tuesday 21 March

Club night; Bush Time Handicap Tournament; start 6.45pm; 30 minutes per game split between players according to grade difference. Entry fees: Club members £4, non-members £8 in advance or £10 on the day.

Tuesday 28 March

Club night; PS 1st team home to DHSS 1; PS 3rd team home to Revenue & Customs 3; LL Minor team home to Wanstead & Woodford MI

Saturday 1 - Sunday 2 April National Club Championships, St John's Hotel, Solihull, Birmingham

Tuesday 4 April

Club night; PS 2nd team home to DHSS 2; LL Major team home to Kings Head MA

Tuesday 11 April

Club night; LL 1st team home to Kings Head 3; LL Major team home to West London 1

Tuesday 18 April

Club night; LL Major team home to Battersea MA

Wednesday 19 April LL Minor team away to Athenaeum MI

Tuesday 25 April

Club night; LL 1st team away to DHSS 1; LL Major team home to Hammersmith MA

Thursday 27 April LL Minor team away to Cavendish MI

Tuesday 2 May

Club night; PS 2nd team home to Revenue & Customs 2

Friday 5 May

LL 2nd team away to Morley College 1

Tuesday 9 May

Club night; Bonar Law and Post Annual Cup Finals Gala Night; Upper Vestry House, start 6.30pm;

Thursday 11 May

PS 1st team away to Pimlico Home; LL 2nd team away to Wanstead & Woodford 2

Friday 12 May

LL Minor team away to Morley College MI

Tuesday 16 May

Club night; LL 1st team home to Battersea 2

Thursday 18 May

Public Service League Team Blitz, Pimlico Chess Club

Tuesday 23 May

Club night; LL 1st team home to Wimbledon 2; LL Major team home to Battersea MA

Tuesday 30 May

Club night; LL 2nd team home to Newham 1

Tuesday 6 June

Club night;

Tuesday 13 June

Annual General Meeting

Tuesday 20 June

Club night; Summer Tournament (June Gorton Memorial Tournament), start 6.45pm, five round single section Swiss, 15 minutes per player per game. Opening up: Nigel. Club members £4, non-members £8 in advance or £10 on the day.

Tuesday 27 June Last club night of the season; FIDE Rated Open Blitz Tournament; start 6.45pm, 10-round single section Swiss. Rate of play: 3 minutes + 2 second increments. Opening up: Nigel
Saturday 1 July Summer Rapidplay Tournament

Sunday 30 July

Friendly match away to Hastings Chess Club

 

 

 

HomeLondon LeagueLondon Public Service LeagueClub CompetitionsCalendar
© Greater London Chess Club