GLCC logoSimultaneous display
 
Home London League London Public Service League Club Competitions Calendar
 
 
 

Calendar 2017-18

Events in the GLCC chess-playing year. Home matches and other events at the clubroom are shown in red. Away events are in blue. All home matches start at 6.30pm.

Tuesday 5 September

First club night of the season; Shapson Trophy Lightning Tournament (10 seconds per move), single section all-play-all or Swiss, depending on entries, start 7.00pm. Open to all players; entry fees: £4 for GLCC members, 6 for non-members entering in advance, 10 for non-members entering on the day. 40% of entry fees returned as prizes, remainder to club funds. To enter in advance, phone or email Nigel Blades (tel 020 8580 5872, tournaments@glcc.org.uk), giving your name and grade. Entry fee payable in cash on the day of the tournament.

Tuesday 12 September

FIDE Rated Open Blitz Tournament incorporating the Public Service League Individual Blitz Championships, start 6.45pm, 3 minutes + 2 second increment per player per game. Open and U-150 (U-1825 FIDE) sections all-play-all or Swiss system, depending on entries. Ten rounds, finishing by 9.30-10pm. Entry fees: 4 for GLCC members and Public Service League players, 8 for non-members entering in advance, 12 for non-members entering on the day.

Wednesday 13 September LPSCL 3rd team away to Treasury 3

Tuesday 19 September

Autumn General Meeting, Prizegiving and Club Champion's Simultaneous Display, start 6.30pm.

Wednesday 20 September

LPSCL 1st team away to Treasury 1

Thursday 21 September

LPSCL 3rd team away to Pimlico 4

Tuesday 26 September

Club night; LPSCL 2nd team home to Treasury 2

   
   

Tuesday 3 October

Club night; LPSCL 3rd team home to UNATS 2

Wednesday 4 October

LPSCL 1st team away to DHSS 1

 

Tuesday 10 October

Club night;

Wednesday 11 October

LPSCL 2nd team away to DHSS 2

 

Tuesday 17 October

Club night; LPSCL 1st team home to Pimlico Home; LPSCL 3rd team home to Revenue & Customs 3

Tuesday 24 October

Club night; LPSCL 2nd team home to UNATS 1

Tuesday 31 October

Club night;

Thursday 2 November

LPSCL 1st team away to Pimlico Justice

Tuesday 7 November

Club night; LPSCL 2nd team home to Pimlico 3

Tuesday 14 November

Club night; LPSCL 3rd team home to DHSS 3

Thursday 16 November

LPSCL 1st team away to Revenue & Customs 1

Tuesday 21 November

Club night;

Thursday 23 November

LPSCL 2nd team away to Revenue & Customs 2

Tuesday 28 November

Club night; LPSCL 1st team home to Pimlico Justice (Bonar Law Cup)

Thursday 30 November

LPSCL 3rd team away to Sparta

Tuesday 5 December

Club night;

Tuesday 12 December

Club night; LPSCL 2nd team home to Revenue & Customs 2 (Post Annual Cup)

Tuesday 19 December

Club night; Christmas Tournament at odds for the Phil Jeffries Trophy. Our annual Christmas event played at 19th century style odds, depending on grade handicap. Five round Swiss tournament (15 minutes per player per game), entry fee for members 8, non-members 12, Christmas drinks and buffet; Opening up: Nigel. Start 6.45pm.

Tuesday 26 December

Closed;

Tuesday 2 January

Closed;

Tuesday 9 January

Club night;FIDE Rated Open Blitz Tournament; start 6.45pm, 10-round single section Swiss. Rate of play: 5 minutes per player per game. Entry fees: 4 for GLCC members, 8 for non-members entering in advance, 12 for non-members entering after 6pm on Monday 8th January; Opening up: Nigel

Thursday 11 January

LPSCL 1st team away to Pimlico Home

Tuesday 16 January

Club night;

Wednesday 17 January

LPSCL 2nd team away to Treasury 2

Tuesday 23 January

Club night; LPSCL 1st team home to Treasury 1; LPSCL 3rd team home to Pimlico 4

 

 

Tuesday 30 January

Club night; LPSCL 2nd team home to Revenue & Customs 2

Tuesday 6 February

Club night;

Thursday 8 February

LPSCL 3rd team away to UNATS 2

Tuesday 13 February

Club night;

Tuesday 20 February

Club night; LPSCL 1st team home to Revenue & Customs 1

Thursday 22 February

LPSCL 3rd team away to Revenue & Customs 3

Tuesday 27 February

Club night;

Thursday 1 March

LPSCL 2nd team away to Pimlico 3

Tuesday 6 March

Club night; LPSCL 1st team home to Pimlico Justice; LPSCL 3rd team home to Treasury 3

Tuesday 13 March

Club night;

Thursday 15 March

LPSCL 2nd team away to UNATS 1

 

Tuesday 20 March

Club night; Bush Handicap Tournament; start 6.45pm; 30 minutes per game split between players according to grade difference. Entry fees: 4 for members, 8 for non-members entering in advance

Tuesday 27 March

Club night;

Tuesday 3 April

Club night;

 

Tuesday 10 April

Club night; LPSCL 1st team home to DHSS 1; LPSCL 3rd team home to Sparta

Tuesday 17 April

Club night; LPSCL 2nd team home to DHSS 2

   
   

Tuesday 24 April

Club night; Cup Finals Night

Thursday 26 April LPSCL 3rd team away to DHSS 3

Tuesday 1 May

Club night

Tuesday 8 May

Club night;

Tuesday 15 May

Club night;

Tuesday 22 May

Club night;

Thursday 24 May

Public Service League Team Blitz

Tuesday 29 May

Club night;

Tuesday 5 June

Summer Tournament (June Gorton Memorial Tournament), start 6.45pm, five round single section Swiss, 15 minutes per player per game. Entry fees: 4 for members, 8 for non-members entering in advance, 12 for non-members entering on the day; Opening up: Nigel.

Tuesday 12 June

Club night; Annual General Meeting, start 6.45pm; no chess played until AGM concluded

Tuesday 19 June

Club night; FIDE Rated Open Blitz Tournament; start 6.45pm, 10-round single section Swiss. Rate of play: 3 minutes + 2 second increments. Entry fees: 3 for members, 7 for non-members entering in advance, 12 for non-members entering on the day; Opening up: Nigel

Tuesday 26 June Last club night of the season;
Saturday 30 June Saturday Rapidplay Tournament. Five round Swiss, 25 minutes per player + 5 second increment. Open, U-160 and U-120 sections.

Sunday 29 July

Friendly match away to Hastings Chess Club

 

 

 

HomeLondon LeagueLondon Public Service LeagueClub CompetitionsCalendar
© Greater London Chess Club